Catching Up…

The month of February for me will be remembered as the I-5 month as once again I’ve made my way up the Interstate to Seattle for a few days of work with a Hawks game in Everett mixed in tomorrow night.

The drive this morning gave me a chance to think about yesterday afternoon’s loss to the Moose Jaw Warriors and while it was a tough way to lose, it isn’t the end of the world.  The Hawks had picked up points in a season high nine straight games (going 8-0-1-0) prior to the loss yesterday.

Something about playing the Eastern Conference brought out the offense in the six games in Portland this year as the Hawks and their Eastern Conference opponents combined for 62 goals in six games (an average of 10.33/game) while for the season, the game average has been 7.31/game.

Had you asked most people if getting six out of eight points was reasonable when you looked at the schedule starting last Wednesday with the Tri City Americans coming to town, add in the long trip to PG for the back-to-back on Friday/Saturday and then the long trip back to Portland for the afternoon game on Monday, most would have said that getting six would have been more than acceptable.

The loss was the first for the Hawks this season when leading after two periods, they had gone 25-0-0-0 prior, and that was tough to take and I think Mike Johnston is right in his comments to the papers that the Hawks appeared mentally tired.  I know that I was and I just had to call the games, not actually having to play in them.

In any case, as with any loss (or game for that matter), there are things you can learn from them and I’m sure the coaching staff will use Monday’s game as a teaching tool as this young team continues to push for home ice advantage in the first round.

I do know that the Hawks from the net out will need to be better than Monday to get two points out of the Comcast Arena tomorrow night.

I didn’t get a chance to see the U.S./Switzerland game today as I was traveling, but I understand that Luca Sbisa got some playing time for the Swiss.  It is just really cool to have a player on the Hawks roster on that big of a stage.

I did watch Canada destroy Norway, after the first period anyway, and am looking forward to seeing Russia do the same to Latvia later tonight.

The Winter Olympics are just a tremendous time, I hope that all of you get a chance to watch some of the action (albeit mostly taped delayed thanks to NBC).  At least the hockey has been live today on CNBC and USA.

More later this week…

Share this Post

  • Questions?

    Got a question for the broadcast crew? You can email questions to hawksradio@gmail.com and if you include your name and city, we just may answer them on the air!