Somewhere Along I-5…

Seems like I’ve been traveling on I-5 all weekend…maybe I have been. 

Oh yeah…I remember now…I’m in my hotel room in Everett where the team will stay until mid-day tomorrow before heading to Langley to take on the Vancouver Giants tomorrow…er…later tonight.

Luca Sbisa (picture stolen from Byan Heim) made a successful home debut, scoring a power play goal in the 6-2 win over Seattle at the Rose Garden.  I will sit down with Luca prior to the game against Vancouver and you can hear that interview during the first intermission tomorrow night.

Quietly, the masked one, Luke Walker has put together a 10 game point streak, amassing 16 points during the streak, scoring six times and setting up 10.  His line with Chris Francis and Ty Rattie are really clicking right now and they are fun to watch.

I think Francis has set a personal goal of reaching 200 career WHL points before the regular season ends and after his four point game tonight, he needs 29 points in 19 games to reach that mark.  Considering he has 16 points in eight games against Seattle, and with four games remaining between the two teams, if he continues two points a game, that means he will only need 21 points in the other 15 games to reach that number.

Wait…I was told there would be no math…but I digress.

It won’t be easy against Vancouver…but it wasn’t easy last Sunday either and the Hawks found a way to win.  A win tomorrow…er…later tonight would be much sweeter and a nice way to wrap up the Hawks final three-in-three weekend of 2009-10.

Pre-game show starts at 5:40 on Freedom 970…

Share this Post

3 Comments

  1. 29 pts in 19 games is a tall order – but it is good to set lofty goals.

    I, for one, hope he hits it. After all that Chris Francis has been through in a ‘Hawks sweater, its great to see it pay off with a great season. I don’t even mind taking penalties anymore as fun as he is to watch shorthanded.

    I’m hoping for some playoff success to cap his WHL career as well.

  2. I may have been in a timewarp but what happened to Curtis? Is he injured?

  3. Ian is out for the weekend with a upper body injury…


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

  • Questions?

    Got a question for the broadcast crew? You can email questions to hawksradio@gmail.com and if you include your name and city, we just may answer them on the air!