The Homestretch…

The foggy view from my 3rd floor room...

The foggy view from my 3rd floor room...

The Winterhawks are now back where we started this trip…Cranbrook, BC…as they prepare for their final game of the Central Swing tomorrow night against the Kootenay Ice.   It’s nice to be back amongst the trees, even if they are obscured by the fog this morning.

The 4-3 OT win last night guaranteed the Hawks at least a .500 record in the six game swing, as they are now 3-2-0-0 in the first five games.   It wasn’t a Rembrandt last night against the Lethbridge Hurricanes, but two points is two points and the team will take them.

The 3rd period face off...

The 3rd period face off...

Call me superstitious, but the Hawks were tied at the end of two periods in Medicine Hat and I snapped a photo of the third period faceoff…well…the Hawks were tied last night at the end of two and I wasn’t going to tempt fate.  I didn’t take any other photos as I forgot I had the camera there most of the night.

The win last night was the seventh road win of the season (in 11 games) and that matches the total road wins for the entire 2008-09 season (in 36 games).

I will post the video of Nino Niederreiter’s OT winner later today…and I guess I now have a catch phrase as the “Nino! Nino!  Nino!” call will be part of the repertoire moving forward…hope to call it about 50 more times this season.

The only sad part about last night was seeing Radim Valchar after the game.  I’ve never hidden the fact that Valchar is one of my favorites and to see him languish on the Hurricanes bench in the third period last night was very hard to watch.  Valch has been sick recently, but he was healthy and Hurricane Coach Rich Preston sat him in a game that I’m sure meant a lot to Radim.   I’m sure Preston has his reasons but it doesn’t mean I have to agree with them.

After the game, it was great to see former Hawks Nick Hotson and Brayden Nargang.  Both players are attending the University of Lethbridge and they took time to come down to the locker room area.

One of the best parts of these trips is the chance to see former players…

From the shamless self-promotion department…the video that was shot in Calgary with me and Cory Flett from the WHL talking about the U.S. Division is now up on the WHL website.

That’s it for now…

Share this Post

4 Comments

  1. PLENTY OF FOLKS IN THE CROWD IN LETHBRIDGE!

  2. Thanks for the photos of the trip, Andy. Keep them coming.

    I thought your interview with Cory Flett was very good. [applause]

    GO HAWKS!!

  3. Amazing that we have won 3 games on the trip already, I can’t remember the last time that has happened

  4. NAR-gang. Oh the memories.


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

  • Questions?

    Got a question for the broadcast crew? You can email questions to hawksradio@gmail.com and if you include your name and city, we just may answer them on the air!