In Spokane…

040603-094.A view of the Spokane River that disects the Lilac City…and time for me to catch up on a few things…

Hopefully you got a chance to hear Mike Johnston on 95.5 in Portland this afternoon.  I barely made it back to the hotel room to catch it on the web and it is great to hear sports talk radio in Portland discussing Hawks and hockey in general.

They talked about the upcoming Alumni Association Golf Tournament as well as the upcoming season a bit.

All in all, good exposure for the Hawks and just another part of what has been a busy summer…

Best of luck to Dan Folwick, who is stepping down as the Hawks PA Announcer after many years of service.  I’ve heard a lot of PA announcers around the league and Dan was up there among the best.

I’m sure I’ll see him around the rink this season but I’ll miss the pre-game conversations in the media room with The Voice.

With Don Nachbaur moving on from Tri City, that leaves just Rob Sumner as the only Head Coach in the U.S. Division that started the 2006-07 season in that realm.  Obviously, Mike Johnston replaced Rich Kromm in Portland; Hardy Sauter took over for Bill Peters in Spokane;  Craig Hartsburg has been hired to replace John Becanic in Everett; and now the open position in Kennewick.

Is the recently retired (and Ams owner) Stu Barnes a candidate for the Head Coach in Tri?  An interesting thought…

I’ve read the reports on Mike Williamson heading to Calgary and if so, I am very happy for Willy as he is, and always will be, one of the great guys in the game.  I was so glad to hear that he was back in the Hawks fold with the Alumni Association and he is one guy that I miss a lot around the game.

I will wait to send congratulations until it is made official by Calgary…and I hope that the “source” didn’t get it wrong…

I hope everyone is able to stand the heat the next few days…try and stay cool…I’ll be returning to Portland tomorrow evening.

Share this Post

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

  • Twitter Comments

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • Questions?

    Got a question for the broadcast crew? You can email questions to hawksradio@gmail.com and if you include your name and city, we just may answer them on the air!