So Long 2008…Welcome 2009….

Nothing like a New Years Eve win over Seattle to head into 2009 on the right note…

A couple things from tonight…

The TV broadcast went well and a big thanks to all of our cameramen and crew for their hard work.  There wasn’t much time between the announcement of the broadcast and the game (7 days) and you don’t just throw together a TV broadcast.

I thought it was a good show and I enjoyed working again with Ian Furness – a true pro.  Things will be smoother for the next broadcast from the Rose Garden on January 16th against the Spokane Chiefs, but tonight was  a success in my eyes.

I don’t have an update on Brock Cornish…he had x-rays tonight and will be evaluated more tomorrow.  Once I hear something official, I’ll pass it along.

Don’t look now…but Stefan Schneider now has a four game point streak…

(So does Travis Bobbee…)

Chris Francis missed a chance to extend his point streak to six games when he missed an open net in the final minutes.

Lastly…it is normal at this time of the year to reflect back on the previous year, but I’m not going to do that very much this year.

On the hockey side, there are only positives to look forward to now and I want to wish the entire team, coaching staff, management and staff of the Winter Hawks the Happiest of New Years and I look forward to working with all of you as we all work toward the common goal of returning the team to elite status in the WHL.

On the family side, I am very blessed to have the family that I have both with my wife and daughter and the extended family with siblings, in-laws, nieces and nephews and on down the line.  May we all have an outstanding 2009.

On the business side, I work for a stable company that I am honored to work for and look forward to a better 2009.

And to the readers of this blog…as fans of the Portland Winter Hawks, or of the WHL, or just hockey in general…I consider you part of my extended family as well.  Without you, there would be no sense in me writing.  Thanks for reading, keep responding and may 2009 be all that you want it to be.

Happy New Year!

10 Comments

  1. After watching the Hawks live, we’re at home watching the game on DVR. Top notch production. It’s a pleasure listening to you and Ian on the TV broadcast.

    Happy New Year to you, every one in the Winter Hawks organization and all Hawk fans.

  2. Andy–

    I watched about 75% of the FSN broadcast tonight… Looked great and you and Furness seemed to work really well together… I’m looking forward to the next broadcast, you should both be happy with your jobs tonight.

    Here’s a raised glass to you and your family, extended and otherwise.

    Let’s hope that this year brings some much deserved wins to the boys on the ice!

  3. Andy,

    Thanks for the FSN broadcast. This had to be the first WHL broadcast I’d seen since the old Tacoma Rockets were shown on KSTW (about 1993 I think). Glad to see the WHL back on TV.

    I agree with you about the professional work with all involved in the broadcast. In fact, I was thinking during the second period the exact same thing about the one week turnaround. This was the first time I’d heard you broadcast a game (I’m more familar with Ian on KJR) and thought you did a wonderful job.

    I would like to know what numbers (ratings) these broadcasts would have to pull in to get FSN to pick up games for either the playoffs or a slate of games for the 2009-2010 season?

    Thanks, and Happy New Year!

  4. Andy,

    I was at the game and also recorded it (as we are the billets for one of the players). I think you all did an excellent job! Good commentary…great color work…and the camera crew did a fantastic job as well. Glad to see some of the games on FSN (as the camera work and feed is much better than the online feed).

    However, one small thing (and this is the business side of me talking)….not sure about the tie/jacket combo. LOL!

    Hey, if that’s the only down side to the coverage on FSN..then you all did a great job!

    Our prayers are with Brock and his recovery. I know he’s had a bum shoulder in the past…I hope he’s able to recover and rejoin the team soon. He’s definitely played a LOT better since returning to the team after his brief hiatus.

    Thanks for all you do and the hardwork you put in. Here’s wishing you professionally and in your personal life a wonderful and very happy 2009!

    Regards,
    Greg Lester

  5. Thanks for your blog and game play-by-play…. I wish you and your family a fantastic, safe, and healthy 2009! The Hawks will only continue to get better and play more as a team with the team’s new coaching/teaching style! And I pray that the injury to Brock’s shoulder will not be extensive & that he will be back before too long! Good play from the Hawks against Seattle….and a fun evening! Happy New Year!

  6. I SAW A DIFFERENT TEAM LAST NIGHT THAN I SAW LAST YEAR AND THE START OF THIS YEAR. I DON’T KNOW IF THIS GAME IS A GREAT MEASURING STICK CONSIDERING THE # OF KEY PEOPLE SEATTLE WAS MISSING. THAT SAID, I THINK WE’RE IMPROVING AND I LIKE THE DIRECTION THINGS ARE GOING. THE THING I’VE NOTICED RECENTLY IS NO GAPING HOLES IN THE DEFENSE, AND NO WIDE OPEN OPPONENTS IN FRONT OF OUR NET (AS MUCH).
    JUST ANOTHER SIDE NOTE ABOUT LAST NIGHT, THE ATMOSPHERE. THE MUSIC HAS IMPROVED 1000% AT THE GAMES. THAT’S NOT A MISPRINT!! 1000%.

  7. Happy New Year Andy to you and yours and we will be down to see the Hawks & Tips Friday night… I recorded the game last night on the DVR and now as soon as my wife and daughter stopped playing Guitar Hero I can watch last nights game…

  8. Haven’t watched the game yet, but I could hear Andy and Ian behind me and they sounded great. Ian is a natural.

    Also, remember to give John Kirby a huge thank you for working with the league and FSN to get this game, and 5 others we get to see on TV! Thanks John!!!!!! Hope you enjoyed your cruise!

  9. I watched the game on DVR tonight, it was a great production. I enjoyed the interchange between you and Ian. You guys gave the fans alot of information during the breaks and it was great to see the Memorial Cup team wearing the “ole” Cooperalls! They looked sharp. Cudos to the camera people, they did a great job for the broadcast and on a more personal note I watched the game with much pride in you, my brother.

    Rose

  10. Will there be a re-broadcast of the game? I forgot to DVR it before I left for the game.


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

  • Questions?

    Got a question for the broadcast crew? You can email questions to hawksradio@gmail.com and if you include your name and city, we just may answer them on the air!