Sunday Thoughts…

A busy weekend for yours truly with the two Winter Hawk games and two early morning swim meets for my daughter in Lake Oswego…its nice to be home with nothing else planned for the rest of the day.

Well…it took a while, but Luke Walker’s goal at 18:08 of the third period brought the rain of bears onto the MC ice (or off the back of my head as at least ten bears did last night)…all told, the total number of bears donated reached 22,392, a new record for the Winter Hawks organization.

This event is one of the funnest of the year for everyone involved and it would have been nice to have the goal scored earlier in the game, but, in the end, it didn’t seem to dampen the spirit of the toss for it to happen so late.

Back to Friday night, the Calgary Hitmen might be the team to beat in the WHL this year and they showed that against the Hawks.  I was very impressed with their speed, work ethic and dogged determination for the entire 60 minutes.

Vancouver may be up there with them, but I like Calgary’s depth a bit better…right now.

That would be a great final series to watch if the Hitmen and Giants collide…but there is a lot of hockey to be played between now and April.

Daniel Johnston has joined the Winter Hawks and began skating with the team yesterday morning and will remain with the team until they return home for the Christmas holiday.

He is targeting his return to the line-up on December 27 against Seattle in either the Key Arena or the new ShoWare Center in Kent.

He is sporting some nasty looking scars from his two neck surgeries in late July, but he is in tremendous shape and is ready to get back to game action.

I will have him on one of our broadcasts either Friday or Saturday night for an interview.

Monday night will be the next Stark Street Pizza Show from 7:00 to 9:00.  Troy Rutkowski, Travis Ehrhardt, Joe Morrow and Brad Ross will be in attendance.

Right now, it looks like I’ll make my first appearance of the year at Stark Street as well.

Admission is $3 at the door, and that includes a drink of your choice.

It was great to talk a bit with new owner Bill Gallacher and his wife prior to the game last night.  It is easy to see their passion for the game and their new team.

It was also great to see Mr. Gallacher on the ice picking up the bears…I’m sure that is an experience that he will remember for years.

One last note…I know that we have had troubles with the FM broadcast signal in the Rose Garden for the first two games there.  I’m not sure where the problem lies and we will continue to work on it.

I understand the passion of the fans and I am very appreciative that you want to listen to our broadcast while watching the game.

But…it is hard for me to answer your questions and address your concerns while I’m on the air and broadcasting the game.  I don’t want anyone to think that I’m being rude if I’m short with you or not able to discuss the problem at that time as I’m busy doing the pre-game show. 

If you see me with the headset on and talking, chances are I’m on the air…

Thanks for your understanding…

Thats it fow now…

3 Comments

  1. Hawk Fans…

    Don’t forget that the Blazers also have a home game scheduled for Friday night… 7PM start per their website while we are at 7:30.
    Parking will be at a premium and the Max will be jammed.

    Bring patience (grin)

    cheers, Mike the Mayor of Widmer

  2. Hi, sorry to bother you with this question but I don’t have your email address to send this to. Do you have any idea how to contact the Winterhawks office via email? I can’t find a general email address on their website and I’ve lost my voice due to a cold so can’t talk very well. Thanks, Susan

  3. If you see me with the headset on and talking, chances are I’m on the air…

    That’s freakin’ hilarious, Andy.

    Or it would be if you didn’t actually have to tell people that.


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

  • Questions?

    Got a question for the broadcast crew? You can email questions to hawksradio@gmail.com and if you include your name and city, we just may answer them on the air!